Friday, August 09, 2019

3 Songs: On Repeat

A Voice Of Your Own – “Clean” (The rising Dayton indie rock band released their stellar sophomore album, Satellites, in June.  Led by vocalist/guitarist James Crabtree along with guitarist Tyler Conley, bassist Jonny McConnell and drummer Matt Mihalus, the quartet creates a dynamic and lushly layered sound that incorporates everything from 90’s-inspired alternative rock and 80’s post-punk rhythms to shimmering dream-pop with infectiously catchy melodies.  The standout track heard here with its soft-chugging guitars and atmospheric background vocals will give you all of the 90’s feels!)       

Have Mercy – “Heartbeat” (The Baltimore emo revivalists led by Brian Swindle recently released their fourth album, The Love Life, via Hopeless Records.  The new songs lean more toward the pop-leaning, Jimmy Eat World and Dashboard Confessional side of the emo spectrum and are Swindle’s most vulnerable and emotionally-charged songs since their promising 2013 debut album.  Check out the standout single here with its sing-along chorus and see them on tour this fall with The Early November and Owel.)              

Sum 41 – “Out For Blood” (The L.A.-by-way-of-Canada pop-punk lifers recently returned after a three year wait with a new album, Order In Decline, on Hopeless Records.  The new album is both political and personal and also their heaviest and most aggressive; matching the lyrics in their intensity.  The standout first single, heard here, is the perfect example with its raging riffs and rhythm and thrash metal-esque guitar solo.)        


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home