Friday, December 14, 2018

3 Songs: Neil Young - 2018 Releases

Neil Young released three albums this year.  The first was the soundtrack to his film Paradox, featuring his backing band Promise of The Real and directed by his wife Daryl Hannah.  The second was Roxy – Tonight’s The Night Live, the archival release of the inaugural performance at the legendary Roxy Theatre in Los Angeles, recorded in 1973.  The third release was the archival release, Songs For Judy, that features stripped-down solo acoustic performances recorded in November of 1976. 
This special edition of my 3 Songs: On Repeat column features a track from each release.
“The Losing End” (A less twangy acoustic version taken from Songs For Judy; the original version appeared on the album, Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere.  The album also features extensive liner notes from Cameron Crowe.)

“Mellow My Mind (Live)” (Originally issued as a Record Store Day exclusive, Roxy – Tonight’s The Night Live was given a wide release and the album, featuring the backing band the Santa Monica Flyers,  captures a spirited performance of many songs that would become the album Tonight’s The Night.)

“Peace Trail” (Taken from the Paradox Soundtrack and performed by Neil Young + Promise Of The Real, this rambling, expansive track is classic Neil with a modern touch, thanks to Lukas Nelson and company.  This is their second release together in as many years.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home