Wednesday, December 19, 2018

3 Songs: On Repeat (Extended Edition)

High Praise – “Avalanched” (High Praise is the new instrumental post-rock project from Matt Traxler (Brandtson) and Kevin Fagan (S.S.&C). Together the Cleveland-based duo creates a self-proclaimed “acid casual daydream pop” sound, incorporating elements of dream-pop and shoegaze.  Their debut EP, Forever Ever After will be released early next year via Traxler’s Steadfast Records.  Listen to the first single below with its haunting, smoldering synth-driven atmospherics and reverb-drenched guitars for the perfect introduction.)

Richard Swift – “Sept20” (The late musician/producer’s final album was completed a month before his passing in July of this year.  Out now on Secretly Canadian, is Swift’s swan song, The Hex, on which he faces death – his own and that of his mother and sister – set to a background of 60’s psych-pop, doo-wop and the excellent, trademark production that became his calling card during his musical career.  The album showcases his many sides and is a lasting tribute.)

Foxwarren –“Lost In A Dream” (Foxwarren is the long-gestating project from  Andy Shauf (guitars/keys/vocals), Dallas Bryson (guitar/vocals), and brothers Darryl Kissick (bass) and Avery Kissick (drums & percussion); whose self-titled debut album was recently released via Anti.  As siblings and childhood friends, the culmination of their talents converges on a sound that combines elements of Elliot Smith’s baroque piano-led pop, Beatles-esque melodies and Wilco-like folk-rock experimentation for an album of the year-worthy debut.)

Cold War Kids – “Opium Tea (Nick Cave cover)” (Cold War Kids emerged from the music blog’s golden age in 2005 with an eclectic and percussion-heavy indie rock sound and celebrate their first ten years of existence with the release of the recently released career-spanning anthology, This Will All Blow Over In Time, out now via UMe.  The first disc of the 2-CD or 2-LP set features all of their radio singles from 2005 to 2015 including, “Hospital Beds”, “Hang Me Up To Dry” and “Miracle Mile”.  The second disc is comprised of rare and unreleased tracks including tracks from their long out of print debut EP Mulberry Street and their fan favorite cover of Nick Cave’s “Opium Tea”, heard here.)

Kleenex Girl Wonder – “ The History Of Ice” (NY singer-songwriter Graham Smith and his indie rock band proves prolific yet again with the release of their second album this year.  The recently released White Lacuna follows Vana Mundi, released earlier this year.  While known for his lengthy, verbose lyric sheets and whip-smart observations and wit; Smith blends elements of power-pop and melodies that evoke the British Invasion era alongside lyrical themes that discuss memories and relationships and the divisions between.  Check out the jangly bounce of the infectiously catchy, XTC-esque opening track and single here.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home