Friday, May 11, 2018

3 Songs: On Repeat (Extended Edition)

Carriers – “Daily Battle” (The Cincy-based psych-rock band led by Curt Kiser - ex-Pomegranates, Enlou - is set to debut their first physical release, a two-song cassette single, out today on Old Flame Records.  Assisted in the studio by Isaac Karns of the Poms, percussionist Bryan Devendorf of The National and bassist/producer/engineer John Curley of Afghan Whigs; Kiser has crafted an intriguing sound, mixing hypnotic heartland rock and ethereal dream-pop in the vein of The War On Drugs.  Stay tuned for more from this emerging band!)   

Beach House – “Dive” (The dream-pop duo will release their aptly-titled seventh album, 7, today via Sub Pop.  Victoria and Alex have been a band for 13 years and like a fine wine, just keep getting better with age.  This latest set of songs was created with the idea that everything may not be able to be recreated live and features some heavy, societal lyrical themes; the result is their most dense, dynamic and lushly layered effort to date.  Check out the shape-shifting standout single here.)     

La Luz – “The Creature” (The L.A. quartet is set to release their long-awaited third album, Floating Features, today on Hardly Art.  With a bump up in fidelity, Shana Cleveland, Marian Li Pino, Alice Sandahl and Lena Simon create a blissful blend of harmony-rich and surf-influenced psych-pop that is at once instantly memorable and mesmerizing.  Check out the lazy jangle of the keyboard-heavy single here.)     

Marmalakes – “Bright Robes” (After releasing four well-received EPs since forming in 2010; the Austin-based duo of Chase Weinacht and Josh Halpern will release their highly-anticipated debut album, Please Don’t Stop, on Austin Town Hall Records.  Both musicians also spend time in other bands of note including, Shearwater, Loma, Still Corners and The Hermits and bring that wealth of experience to their own project; creating together an infectiously catchy brand of guitar-led folk-pop accented by soaring indie-rock and woozy dream-pop melodies.)       

The Word Alive – “Red Chords” (The Phoenix post-hardcore trio return today with their fifth album, Violent Noise, released on Fearless Records.  The appropriately-titled new album is the perfect showcase for their balanced blend of soaring, synth-driven melodies and post-hardcore aggression.  Lyrically, they match the intensity with a balance of light and dark, and the positive and negative aspects of life for an inspiring outlook.  Check out the moody and propulsive album opener here.)   


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home