Friday, January 26, 2018

3 Songs: On Repeat

Ampline – “Captions” (The long-running Cincy-based post-punk trio consisting of Kevin Schmidt, Rick McCarty and Mike Montgomery will release their fifth album, Passion Relapse today on Sofaburn Records.  To best capture their raging, propulsive energy and dense 90’s guitar tones, the album was recorded live to analog tape in Montgomery’s Candyland Studios.  The abrasively anthemic standout single, heard here with its driving rhythm and sing-along hook, sounds like a long lost AmRep recording.)        

Mimicking Birds – “Belongings” (Nate Lacy and crew return today with the release of their third album, Layers Of Us, via Glacial Pace Recordings.  The Portland-based trio lives up to the album’s title by adding in lush layers of vintage synths to their folk-leaning cyclical acoustic guitar-led brand of indie-rock.  Label head and Modest Mouse frontman guests on the psychedelic track, “Island Shore” and standout single, the beautiful, “Belongings” heard here, stutters and soars for the perfect introduction to their experimental sound.)  

Brandon Phillips & The Condition – “Clean And Sober” (This new K.C. based soul-pop band is led by Brandon Phillips along with his brothers Adam and Zach.  The Phillips brothers bring a punk rock pedigree that includes The Gadjits, The Architects and Radar State to create an infectious brand of soul music with a power-pop edge and punk spirit.  Their debut double A-side single was released late last fall and Adam’s Radar State band member Josh Berwanger of The Anniversary, just created an incredible lyric video for the standout track, “Clean and Sober”, seen below.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home