Friday, April 28, 2017

3 Songs: On Repeat (Extended Edition)

R. Ring – “Singing Tower” (On the strength of several stellar singles and years of touring, the duo of The Breeders’ Kelley Deal and Ampline’s Mike Montgomery are set to release their long-awaited debut full length album, Ignite The Rest, today via Sofaburn Records.  The duo creates a raucous yet smoldering, noise-swaddled brand of minimalist art-rock with help from guests that include drumming from Mac MaCaughan and the Non-Believers’s drummer Laura King, Southeast Engine’s Leo DeLuca and pro skater Kristian Svitak along with cello performed by Nirvana contributor, Lori Goldston.)

Violents and Monica Martin – “Awake and Pretty Much Sober” (Classically-trained composer and multi-instrumentalist Jeremy Larson, aka Violents has teamed up with folk-pop vocalist Monica Martin of Phox to create the collaborative album, Awake and Pretty Much Sober, out today on Partisan Records.  The album swirls with slick electronics and lush dream-pop textures that complement Martin’s soulful, velvet-smooth vocals and pop sensibility to perfection.)     

Sylvan Esso – “Radio” (The electro-pop duo of Nick Sanborn and Amelia Meath will release their highly-anticipated sophomore album, What Now, today via Loma Vista Recordings.  The excellent new album bursts through the expectations and promise of their debut, coming out the other side with even more bouncy and joyously danceable rhythms, strange, warped synths and instantly catchy, folk-driven pop melodies.)   

Future Islands – “Cave” (After taking the world by storm with their last album – 2014’s Singles - the Baltimore synth-pop trio recently released their hotly-anticipated fifth album, The Far Field, on 4AD Records.  Dynamic vocalist Samuel T. Herring is more subdued with less death metal growls but he still packs enough emotional weight into every syllable to go along with their rhythm-driven post-punk and New Wave-inspired brand of dream-pop.  The album was produced by John Congelton and Blondie’s Debbie Harry guests as well.)    

The Cranberries – “Linger (Acoustic Version)” (After a lengthy hiatus and in celebration of the band’s 25th anniversary, Irish 90’s alt-rock favorites The Cranberries have just released a new album titled, Something Else, via BMG.  The 13-song album features newly-recorded and re-worked versions of their hits including, “Linger”, “Zombie” and “Dreams” that are mostly acoustic with pretty orchestral arrangements courtesy of the Irish Chamber Orchestra.  The band also took the opportunity to record and include three brand new songs: “The Glory”, “Rupture” and the emotionally-charged “Why”. )     


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home