Friday, September 23, 2016

3 Songs: On Repeat

Flock Of Dimes – “Semaphone” (Flock Of Dimes is the new art-pop project from North Carolina-by-way-of-Baltimore based singer-songwriter Jenn Wasner also of Wye Oak and Dungeonesse.  Her long-awaited debut album, If You See Me, Say Yes, is out today on Partisan Records and though she is known for her impressive vocal range and guitar playing, this new project is more experimental with bright, lushly layered synth-pop melodies leading the way.  The album was written, performed, and produced by Wasner with help from frequent collaborators Mickey Freeland and Aaron Roche.)

LVL UP – “Spirit Was” (The New York based quartet released their third album and label debut for Sub Pop this week entitled, Return To Love.  Featuring sublimely catchy and blown-out fuzz-pop melodies alongside emotionally-charged abstract lyrical twists; the band wrestles with spirituality on their most fully formed and best album yet.  Fans of early Weezer, Built To Spill and Neutral Milk Hotel will find this album to be an instant classic!)       

Okkervil River – “Okkervil River R.I.P.” (Will Sheff approached – Away, out now via ATO Records - his latest and seemingly last album under the Okkervil River moniker as a solo album.  Leading up to the album many of the band members moved on and Sheff dealt with personal loss, so he shook things up and used jazz session players and created an organic album that leans more toward mellow folk and 70’s singer-songwriter with beautiful orchestral arrangements than the folk-leaning rock of previous albums.  The result is his deepest, most gorgeous album; a proper burial to the band name.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home