Friday, March 04, 2016

3 Songs: On Repeat

Keeps – “I Don’t Mind” (The Nashville psych-pop band, consisting of Gusti Escalante and Robbie Jackson, released their long-awaited debut album, Brief Spirit, today via Old Flame Records and limited edition cassette via Winspear Music.  Their nostalgia-inducing sound combines shimmering 80’s guitar-pop with taut yet jangly college rock and swaying New Romantic melodies for a stunning album well worth the wait.)

Heron Oblivion – “Your Hollows” (Heron Oblivion is the San Francisco-based psych-folk supergroup-of-sorts featuring Meg Baird of Espers, Noel Von Harmonson and Ethan Miller of Comets on Fire and Charlie Saufley of Assemble Head in Sunburst Sound.  As this standout track proves, they lull you into a trance with their laid-back pastoral folk-pop then suddenly burst into squalls of heavy, feedback-drenched psych-rock on their excellent self-titled debut album out now on Sub Pop.)

The 1975 – “Love Me” (The Manchester-based quartet’s ambitious, new 17-song album, I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it was recently released via Interscope Records and is built upon an unashamed, neon-lit 80’s-inspired pop sense as the insanely catchy standout single here recalls the slick, soulful funk-pop of Peter Gabriel’s So.)      


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home