Friday, November 06, 2015

3 Songs: On Repeat

Lettuce – “Phyllis” (Today the veteran funk revivalists released their aptly-titled fourth studio album, Crush.  With a supreme mix of classic and cosmic funk, lively horns and danceable hip-hop-inspired beats, the band has perfectly captured the sound and energy of their can’t-miss live performances along with guest vocalists Alecia Chakour and Nigel Hall, who bring the soul for their best album yet.)
Stream the spacey, psychedelic first single:

Made Of Oak – “Pinebender” (The instrumental solo project of electronic music producer, Nick Sanborn - one half of the electro-pop duo Sylvan Esso - released his promising debut EP, Penumbra this week via Partisan Records.  Much darker, deeper and more fractured than his previous work, he blends hip-hop-informed rhythms with rumbling bass lines and strange synths into a heady, headphones-worthy trip.)
Stream the dark and rumbling first single:

ForeverAtLast – “Shoreline” (The Indianapolis-based post-hardcore quartet recently released Ghosts Again, their sophomore album and label debut for Victory Records.  The female-fronted band rages like early My Chemical Romance with super sharp radio-ready hooks and standout with a positive outlook with relatable lyrics that deal with death and loss.)     
Stream the statement-making opening track:


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home