Friday, August 21, 2015

3 Songs: On Repeat

Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats – “I Need Never Get Old” (The Denver old school soul and R&B revivalists led by the burly, blues-soaked croon of frontman Nathaniel Rateliff are set to release their stunning self-titled debut album today via legendary label Stax/Concord Records.  Expertly produced by Richard Swift (The Shins, Foxygen) the timeless album is highlighted by blasts of jubilant brass, infectious stomp and clap rhythms, swells of vintage organ and fun, sing-along hooks.  Also, be sure to catch their energetic live show on their nearly sold out tour with fellow Denver band Land Lines.)
Stream the reverb-rich Motown-inspired rave-up here:     

Publicist UK – “Cowards” (Featuring members of Municipal Waste, Revocation, Goes Cube, Discordance Axis, Freshkills and Burnt By The Sun, including the towering powerful baritone of vocalist Zachary Lipez, the “supergroup” quartet creates a deeply melodic and atmospheric brand of dark, heavy post-punk on their excellent debut album, Forgive Yourself, out today via Relapse Records.)
Stream the theatrical, statement-making opening track:

Myrkur – “Mordet” (The once-enigmatic Danish one-woman black metal band Myrkur - Amelie Bruun of indie rock band Ex Cops - lures you in with the breathtaking beauty of her siren-like voice and straight up pretty and hauntingly atmospheric piano-led passages before the contrasting visceral brutal heaviness steamrolls you over like nothing else before it.  Her highly-anticipated insta-classic debut album, M, is out today via Relapse Records, was co-produced in Norway by Garm (Ulver) and features guest spots from Christopher Amott of Arch Enemy and members of Mayhem and Nidingr.)  

Stream the noise-addled thrash metal-inspired and Christopher Amott-guested standout here:


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home