Wednesday, April 01, 2015

3 Songs: On Repeat

Death Cab For Cutie – “No Room In Frame” (Check out the biting, bittersweet opening track from DCFC’s long-awaited and highly-anticipated new album Kintsugi, out now via Atlantic Records.  The new album finds the band in a newfound state of transition as founding member and producer Chris Walla has left since finishing the album and this is the first album written since Ben Gibbard’s divorce.  The music relies on synths and electronics a little more than before, with New Order-like textures but Ben’s distinct voice and melancholic yet poppy melodies remain for yet another solid album to add to their canon.)

Prong – “Banned In D.C. (Bad Brains Cover)” (This week the veteran NYC post-metal trio led by Tommy Victor released Songs From The Black Hole, an new album of cover songs via eOne Music / SPV Records.  On it they pay homage to some of their punk rock peers and influences by putting their own signature hybrid hardcore-punk and thrash-metal spin on songs from Fugazi, Black Flag, Killing Joke, Hüsker Dü  and Sisters Of Mercy among others.  Heard here is their unique take on the iconic Bad Brains track, “Banned In D.C.”.  The album is also highlighted by a pretty faithful yet more metallic version of Neil Young’s epic, “Cortez The Killer”.)

Van Dale – “Speak Yellow” (In order to display their infectiously catchy, fuzzy Weezer-loving alt-pop melodies, the Columbus-based trio - featuring members of Way Yes - released their excellent self-titled debut album this week via Fleeting Youth Records.  The standout single heard here with its head-nodding rhythm and noisy fuzzed-out guitars; sounds like a nostalgia-laced nugget from the mid-90’s, when MTV still mattered and actually played videos.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home