Wednesday, February 25, 2015

3 Songs: On Repeat

Smug Brothers – “Meet A Changing World” (The Dayton indie rock institution led by Kyle Melton released their new album, Woodpecker Paradise this week on CD and as a name-your-price download via Gas Daddy Go Records.  Their Dayton-bred lo-fi aesthetic is given a boost by engineer Darryl Robbins of the Motel Beds and the album was recorded live by its members for the first time adding in a sense of urgency and energy usually reserved for their live show.  The catchy, arena-worthy guitar melodies of the standout single heard here is the perfect summation of the excellent new album.)    


Ball Of Flame Shoot Fire – “San Remo” (The experimental Brooklyn art-rock band released their fourth album, ‘Tis Only Wine this week.  The band’s three singer-songwriters, Jess Tambellini, Tim Good and Winston Cook-Wilson blend their off-kilter pop sense with theatrical vocals, free-form jazz-inspired horns, tumbling rhythms and strange 80’s synth outbursts for a highly unique and very melodic yet avant-garde sound.)   
Stream the standout single, “San Remo” with its spooky synths and female backing vocals here:


Pelican – “The Cliff (Vocal Version)” (Chicago post-metal instrumentalists return with a new EP, The Cliff, out now on Southern Lord.  The 4-song EP takes its name from the standout single from their 2013 album Forever Becoming which is reprised in its original form and includes intriguing remixes by Justin Broadrick of Godflesh and from Aaron Harris and Bryant Clifford Meyer of ISIS/Palms.  Also included is the explosive new song, “The Wait”, taken from the Forever Becoming sessions and a version of “The Cliff” with added vocals from Allen Epley of Shiner and The Life And Times – only the second time in their 14 year existence that they have had vocals in one of their songs.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home