Tuesday, July 08, 2014

Magic Man – “Before The Waves”

Led by vocalist Alex Caplow and guitarist/keyboardist Sam Vanderhoop Lee along with bassist Gabe Goodman, keyboardist/vocalist Justine Bowe and drummer Joey Sulkowski, the Boston-based synth-rock quartet Magic Man create a highly melodic rush of infectiously catchy and jubilantly danceable electronica-inspired indie-pop on their long-awaited sophomore album, Before The Waves, released today via their new label, Neon Gold/Columbia Records. 
Originally the duo of Caplow and Lee released their highly-praised debut album, Real Life Color way back in 2010 as a free download on Bandcamp that only hinted at the band’s promise.  The time since was well spent as fans of The Postal Service’s synth-driven sentiment and The Killers arena-worthy hooks should find plenty to hang their hats on.
Several standout tracks from their excellent 2013 EP, You Are Here return such as the equally-as-big “Texas” and the pretty, punchy and passionate single, “Paris” as well as “Waves” and the swirling “Every Day”.  A couple of the new songs that stand out are the soaring “Catherine” with its deliriously catchy sing-along chorus and “Chicagoland” which is built upon a bouncy beat with squiggly synths and anthemic vocal melodies.  Later, the upbeat “Out Of Mind” recalls likeminded New Englanders Passion Pit with its twinkly 80’s synths, undeniable melody and booming bass-led beat.  The 12-track album closes out on a high note with the cathartic “It All Starts Here” and its ascending synths and propulsive rhythm.    

Watch the video for “Out Of My Mind” here:

For more info: http://magicmanmusic.com/


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home