Wednesday, July 02, 2014

3 Songs: On Repeat

Lab Partners – “Taking Our Time” (Dayton’s “space-rock” veterans released their long-awaited new album, Seven Seas on Record Store Day via Pravda Records.  Ex-Guided By Voices and The Breeders drummer Jim Macpherson mans the drums as bassist Amy Smith and guitarists Mike Smith and Mike Volk team up to create a thick avalanche of cosmic, shoegaze-inspired psych-rock that recalls My Bloody Valentine with the understated pop sensibility of Mercury Rev and the Boo Radleys.)        

Home Video – “Forget” (The NY indie-pop duo consisting of David Gross and Collin Ruffino released their third album, Here In Weightless Fall last week via Dash Go Records.  Their synth-driven sound incorporates danceable club-worthy beats and nostalgic elements of 80’s synth-pop along with dark yet catchy vocal melodies for an exciting and engaging sound that has one foot firmly planted in the future and one flirting with the past.)

bentcousin – “2014” (The London-based twins Amelia and Pat Innit returned this week with the Dizzy 7”, their first new music since their promising debut EP Everybody’s Got One was released last year on Team Love.  The infectious A-side “Dizzy” is a fun-loving mash-up of hip-hop and surf-pop with jangly guitars and summery melodies while the B-side, “2014” features punk-rock legend and PiL guitarist Keith Levene on guitar for a lo-fi punk romp.)     


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home