Tuesday, April 08, 2014

The Faint - "DOOM ABUSE"

After a lengthy hiatus, The Faint return renewed with DOOM ABUSE, their sixth album, out today via SQE Music.  Their last album, Fascination was released in 2008 and left the band burned-out and ready for new artistic outlets but with the anniversary of their landmark album, Danse Macabre in 2011, came a tour and celebration of the band that reignited the flame.  DOOM ABUSE is just as raw, immediate, moody and danceable as ever, like no time has passed.     
Lead off track and first single, “Help In The Head” features a propulsive rhythm with a rumbling bass line, scratchy synths and a delirious sing-along chorus.  It also introduces Todd Fink’s lyrical theme for the album as he sings about the brain and human psyche, with song titles like, “Mental Radio”, the primal “Animal Needs” and “Loss Of Head”.  Likewise, the guitar-led standout track “Evil Voices” most closely resembles their classic sound with an aggressive dance beat and a catchy vocal cadence.   Another standout, “Salt My Doom” is built upon a hard-charging mechanical beat and swirling guitars for nearly 2-and-a-half minutes of unrelenting punk rock attitude.  The noise-addled “Scapegoat” is filled with almost every synth sound imaginable, gurgling, pinging, squealing and squalling that should be a live favorite for both the band and audience.  The twelve-track album closes out with the haunting and hazy-layered “Damage Control” with its melancholic yet melodic 80’s synth-pop sound.        

Download “Help In The Head” here: http://soundcloud.com/sqemusic/the-faint-help-in-the-head
For more info: http://thefaint.com/

(photo credit: Bill Sitzmann)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home