Tuesday, April 01, 2014

Massacre - "Back From Beyond"

Legendary Florida Death metal pioneers, Massacre return this week after more than twenty years with the highly-anticipated release of their crushing and aptly-titled new album, Back From Beyond via Century Media Records.  Original guitarist Rick Rozz (Mantas/Death) with his trademark brutal riffs and dive-bombing leads along with bassist Terry Butler (Death, Obituary) and his signature elastic bass lines return and are rounded out by new drummer, Mike Mazzonetto (Pain Principle) and new vocalist Ed Webb (Diabolic, Destined To Ruin) who proves to be more than capable, armed with a more coherent growl as original grunter, Kam Lee is missing in action.
 The fourteen track album - recorded and mixed by Tim Vazquez of FL’s CGM Studios - is highlighted by the pummeling, mud-thick title track, “Back From Beyond” (which also comes with a grisly yet campy video animated by Doug Cook) and the lead single, “As We Wait To Die” with its unrelenting rhythm, squealing guitar solo and  ambivalent lyrical attitude.  Another standout, "Honor The Fallen" was written in tribute to the late, Jeff Hanneman of Slayer.        
The album’s cover art was created by Toshihiro Egawa and references the art of From Beyond.  The deluxe edition of the album includes two bonus tracks; covers of two Death classics, “Corpsegrinder” and “Mutilation” which features lead guitars frm guest James Murphy (Death, Obituary, Testament). 
Even after a 23-year wait, Massacre delivers the true successor to their acclaimed 1991 debut, From Beyond with their new album, Back From Beyond, playing the same killer brand of Florida death metal they pioneered.     

Stream “As We Wait To Die” here:

For more info: www.massacremetal.com


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home