Wednesday, April 02, 2014

3 Songs: On Repeat

 Saintseneca – “Blood Bath” (The Columbus, OH based indie-folk band’s excellent new album, Dark Arc was released this week on their new label Anti- Records.  Led by singer and multi-instrumentalist Zac Little, they create a clattering and chaotic yet highly melodic style of punk-inspired Appalachian folk with stomping percussion, forceful acoustic instrumentation and enough catchy pop smarts to hold it all together.)      

Pure X – “Heaven” (The Austin quartet released their stunning third album, Heaven this week via Fat Possum.  Recorded mostly live with minimal overdubs, the new record shows the band comfortable in their skin and shines the light on their slow and syrupy rhythms along with lush layers of jangly guitars, silky synths, and pastoral country-leaning melodies for a chilled-out vibe.)   

Split Single – “Waiting For The Sun” (The new project from well-regarded indie vet Jason Narducy (formerly of Verbow and Verböten) along with Britt Daniel of Spoon and Jon Wurster of Superchunk.  After touring in Superchunk and Bob Mould’s band, Jason got back to writing again after a nearly eight year-long lull and the resulting album showcases his classic-styled power indie-pop.  The first single here is a nice slice of melancholic psych-pop with stair-stepping synths, tumbling drums and soaring vocal harmonies for the perfect introduction.)   


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home