Wednesday, March 05, 2014

3 Songs: On Repeat

Ume – “Black Stone” (Produced by Adam Kasper (QOTSA, Foo Fighters) and led by the monumental guitar riffs of guitarist/vocalist Lauren Larson, the Texas power-trio create a swirling storm of hazy shoegaze, heavy grunge, classic rock and pop on Monuments - their sophomore album and label debut for Dangerbird Records - for the year’s first undeniable rock triumph.)

 Wake Owl – “Letters” (Wake Owl is the moniker of singer-songwriter Colyn Cameron who issued an excellent EP of understated acoustic-based folk last year but with the assistance of producer/multi-instrumentalist Richard Swift (The Shins, Foxygen) he has crafted a full-bodied new sound that incorporates elements of 60’s soul and pop and reverb-rich atmospherics on his debut album, The Private World of Paradise, out now on Vagrant.)

Kimono Kult – “Todo Menos El Dolor” (The super-eclectic and experimental new project led by Nicole Turley of Swahili Blonde along with the ever-prolific Omar Rodriguez-Lopez (Mars Volta) and Terri Gender Bender released their debut EP Hiding In The Light this week via Neurotic Yell Records.  The danceable yet skittering electro beats, psychedelic synths and layers of haunting vocals and strings of the opening track here, acts as the perfect introduction to their mysterious world which also features the services of Laena Geronimo, Dante White and former Chili Pepper, John Frusciante.)  


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home