Wednesday, August 29, 2012

3 Songs: On Repeat

1.  Coke Weed X - "Bearcat" (Coke Weed X is the new instrumental project from brothers Brian and Brendan Costello of Lawrence indie rock band Fourth Of July.  Their self-titled debut is out now on Range Life Records and combines sample-based electronica with post-rock grooves and indie rock aesthetics for the perfect soundtrack to almost everything!  For fans of Boards Of Canada and TV Girl.)


2.  Poor Moon - "Birds" (After making their debut with the release of their Illusion EP this past March, the new project from Christian Wargo and Casey Westcott of Fleet Foxes released their self-titled debut album this week on Sub Pop.  "Birds", the soaring closing track is a perfect representation of the album as it is made up of 60's inspired psych-folk with warm, close knit vocal harmonies and a lush arrangement.)


3.  Daughn Gibson - "Reach Into The Fire" (The songwriter sets his deep baritoned crooning to sample-based soundscapes that incorporates everything from blues to dusty country with a punk rock spirit on his highly-praised debut album All Hell, released on White Denim Records earlier this year.  To celebrate his recent signing to Sub Pop, he has released a stunning new track that samples tracks from his new label mates Shabazz Palaces and Tiny Vipers.)



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home