Tuesday, May 22, 2012

The Great Commission - "Firework" EP

The California based Christian metalcore six-piece The Great Commission surprised their fans this week with the release of a new digital EP titled, Firework, out today on Ain't No Grave Records.  It features acoustic re-recordings of 4 tracks from their excellent album Heavy Worship released last year plus an acoustic cover of "Came To My Rescue (Be Lifted High)" by Hilsong United.  Also included is the title track, a cover of Katy Perry's hit song "Firework" done in the band's crushingly heavy metalcore style with a thunderous breakdown that would rattle the braces right out of Katy's (character in the video) mouth!

Angela, who plays guitar and screams on Heavy Worship, takes the spotlight on the Firework EP with her pretty clean vocals put on record for the first time, while Justin peppers in some well placed screams on the tracks for good measure.  The bottom line is when you remove the distorted guitars, most of the screaming and the pummelling drums, what remains are well written glory-giving worship songs that reveal the band's true heart and I think these songs will be covered at almost every youth camp this summer!  

1.  "When It Rains It Pours" (Acoustic)
2.  "Draw The Line" (Acoustic)
3.  "Weight Of The World" (Acoustic)
4.  "Road To Damascus" (Acoustic)
5.  "Came To My Rescue (Be Lifted High)" (Acoustic)
6.  "Firework" (Katy Perry Cover)

Listen to their cover of "Firework" here: http://youtu.be/HA35AootiTc

For more info click here: http://www.facebook.com/TheGreatCommish and http://www.aintnograverecords.com/


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home