Wednesday, June 29, 2011

3 Songs: On Repeat

1. Shabazz Palaces - "Swerve...the reeping of all that is worthwhile (Noir notwithstanding)" (The first hip-hop release on Sub Pop comes from Ishmael "Butterfly" Butler formerly of Digable Planets but gone is the cool Jazz influence, as his debut Black Up is full of futuristic, minimalist indie hip-hop but his smooth and tricky wordplay remains.)

2. Handsome Furs - "What About Us" (For their third album Sound Kapital, out now on Sub Pop, the duo of Dan Boeckner of Wolf Parade and his wife Alexei Perry dropped most of the guitars, to rely almost solely on synths and drum machines. The results are stunning, like an after-hours dance party with Dan's distinct vocals over driving, anthemic electronica.)

3. The Fruit Tree Foundation - "I Forgot The Fall" (Soaring collaboration between Scott Hutchison of Frightened Rabbit and Rod Jones of Idlewild from the album First Edition, a one-off collection from Scotland's greatest musical exports. Also included are unique collaborations from James Graham of Twilight Sad, Jill O’Sullivan from Sparrow and the Workshop, Emma Pollock of The Delgados, as well as Karine Polwart, Jenny Reeve, Alasdair Roberts and James Yorkston. The album was created to spread awareness for mental health and wellbeing in partnership with The Mental Health Foundation.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home