Friday, May 29, 2020

3 Songs: On Repeat - Extended Edition

Damien Jurado – “Ochoa” (The Seattle singer-songwriter continues his prolific tear with his third album in as many years – and fifteenth overall - with the release of What’s New, Tomboy?, out now via Mama Bird Recording Co.  Assisted by multi-instrumentalist Josh Gordon – who provides some expressive bass lines among other things – Jurado weaves stories like no other, blending classic pop and folk to perfection once again.)

Broken Social Scene – “Superconnected” (The Canadian indie rock institution played the Third Man Records’ Blue Room Stage in June of 2018 and the celebratory 5-song set was recorded, mixed and mastered live, in real time, direct to vinyl.  The set list includes fan favorite “Cause = Time”, “Stay Happy” from their most recent album, 2017’s Hug Of Thunder and the bittersweet standout track, “Superconnected”, heard here.) 

Fake Names – “First Everlasting” (Fake Names is a new supergroup consisting of punk rock royalty; with guitarists Brian Baker of Minor Threat, Dag Nasty, and Bad Religion and Michael Hampton of S.O.A., Embrace, and One Last Wish, along with vocalist Dennis Lyxzén of Refused and drummer Johnny Temple of Girls Against Boys and Soulside.  Together they create a power-pop fuelled brand of punk rock heavy on harmonies and hooks on their stunning self-titled debut album, out now on Epitaph Records.)

The Garden – “Clench To Stay Awake” (The Nevada-based duo consisting of twin brothers Wyatt & Fletcher Shears recently released their album titled, Kiss My Super Bowl Ring, via Epitaph Records.  The brothers Shears create a garden of sounds that includes everything from throat-shredding hardcore punk, spastic electronica, hip-hop and glimmers of alt-pop.  Check out the explosive and empowering opening track here.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home