Wednesday, October 09, 2019

REISSUE: The Roots – Things Fall Apart - 20th Anniversary

2019 marks the 20th anniversary of Things Fall Apart, the breakthrough album from Philadelphia rap legends The Roots.  Out now via Geffen/UMe - as part of their Urban Legends series - is an expanded reissue of Things Fall Apart, available digitally and as a 3LP set.       
The album featured guest spots from prominent and emerging artists including, Erykah Badu, Common, Mos Def, DJ Jazzy Jeff, Beanie Segal, Eve, Dice Raw and more.  Standout tracks included the aptly-explosive “Dynamite”, the old school throwback “Double Trouble” featuring Mos Def, the inventive single “The Next Movement” and the Erykah Badu-assisted hit single, “You Got Me”.  The Roots were a different breed and brought a fresh, unique and authentic take on hip-hop, eschewing glitz and glamour for thoughtful lyrics and inventive jazz-indebted sounds created by a live band.         
The 3LP set is available in limited edition clear or standard black.  The original album is spread across 2 LPs and the third LP features 10 bonus tracks including, B-sides, remixes and soundtrack and compilation tracks from the era.  Standouts include a Journey-esque major key flip of “You Got Me”, titled, “We Got You” featuring Jaguar Wright, a skittering Drum & Bass version of “You Got Me” with original vocalist Jill Scott and “Y’all Know Who”, an old school style headbanger with turntable scratches from DJ Cash Money. 
The package is housed in a slipcase with a booklet featuring photos and extensive essays from Questlove and Black Thought; highlighted by highly-informational behind the scenes liner notes that lift the curtain for a look at the creative process for each individual track.      
Watch the video for “The Next Movement”:


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home