Friday, June 01, 2018

3 Songs: On Repeat

Gruesome – “Inhumane” (The old school death metal revivalists return with their sophomore album, Twisted Prayers, out today on Relapse Records.  The band - featuring current and former members of Exhumed, Possessed and Malevolent Creation - pays tribute to the music of the late Chuck Schuldiner of Death.  The new album takes its cues from the 1990 album, Spiritual Healing with more emphasis on melody and groove along with less gore-influenced lyrics and more socially conscious topics.  Spiritual Healing-era guitarist James Murphy also contributes his distinct solos to two of the tracks on the 8-song album.)     

Gatherers – “The Floorboards Are Breathing” (The New Jersey post-hardcore crew is set to release their third album, We Are Alive Beyond Repair, today on Equal Vision Records.  The stellar new album reveals itself to be visceral and atmospheric with vocalist Rich Weinberger’s most poetically personal yet sneeringly ambiguous lyrics yet.  This is dark, moody post-punk inspired post-hardcore at its finest!)  

Personality Cult – “Loose Ends” (Personality Cult is the new post-punk project from LA-based musician James Clifford, who also performs as Modern Howls.  The 3-song self-titled debut EP is out today and offers another side of Clifford’s personality with nostalgic New Wave-inspired synths and danceable post-punk rhythms for a modern take on the music New Order, the Cure and Depeche Mode made in the 80’s.)    


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home