Friday, April 27, 2018

3 Songs: On Repeat (Extended Edition)

Hawthorne Heights – “Just Another Ghost” (The Dayton-bred emo-punk survivors celebrate 14 years as a band with the release of Bad Frequencies, their sixth album and label debut for Pure Noise Records.  Though they have matured, JT Woodruff and crew haven’t lost a step as they tackle aging and fleeting youth with a positive outlook alongside riffs as heavy and melodies as effortlessly catchy as they first displayed on their statement-making 2004 debut album.  Check out the standout single here with its heavy riff and breakdown and soaring hook.)


William Matheny – “Moon Over Kenova” (West Virginia  alt-country singer-songwriter William Matheny – former multi-instrumentalist of Southeast Engine – released his excellent debut album, Strange Constellations last year on Misra Records.  Hot on its heels is Moon Over Kenova, a new digital-only companion EP out today that features 2 new songs as well as demos, alternate versions and covers including his humble cover of Songs: Ohia’s “Just Be Simple”.  The 14-track EP is rounded out by eight live recordings, highlighted by his home state performance on NPR’s Live on Mountain Stage.  Check out the twangy, instantly memorable title track here.)

Okkervil River – “Don’t Move Back To L.A.” (After the more subdued and jazzier excursions of 2016’s Away, Will Sheff returns with his ninth album titled, In The Rainbow Rain.  Out today via ATO Records, the new album – featuring the musicians that played and toured during the Away cycle – is contrastingly playful and fun with upbeat rhythms, more electric guitars and colorful synths.  Likewise, the lyrics are a little less weighty and more inspiring, including the true tale of his tracheotomy which was performed in him at a very early age. )           

Dr. Dog – “Heart Killer” (Philly indie institution Dr. Dog have been laying down their blend of 60’s pop and scruffy folk-rock for over fifteen years now and after a short break, are set to release, Critical Equation, today via Thirty Tigers.  Instead of recording the new album by their self in their own studio like always, they went to L.A. to work with producer/engineer Gus Seyffert and the result finds the band refreshed and as infectiously catchy as ever.  Check out the power-pop hooks of the buzzing, New Wave-informed standout single heard here.)

Forth Wanderers – “Nevermine” (After forming the band in New Jersey while in high school; Ohio-based guitarist and songwriter Ben Guterl plays pen pals with New Jersey vocalist/lyricist Ava Trilling to collaborate on their stunning self-titled sophomore album and label debut for Sub Pop, out today.  Brimming with emotion, anthemic melodies and crisp yet jangly guitars, the duo along with - guitarist Duke Greene, bassist Noah Schifrin, and drummer Zach Lorelli - creates exhilarating indie rock that is fresh yet still somehow cures your pangs of nostalgia.)

Liz Brasher – “Outcast” (Outcast, the debut EP from the multi-racial Memphis singer/guitarist is out today on Fat Possum and shows both sides of the performer.  The first four tracks of the 6-song EP spotlight Brasher’s gritty, fuzzed-out blues-rock sound, including the Doors-like organ freakouts of ”Body Of Mine”.  The last two present her as a soul-bearing belter of torch songs, showcasing her powerful voice as on the closing track, “Cold Baby” with its stirring string arrangement and cascading guitars.  This is the most promising debut of the year!  Listen to the title track here with its reverb-rich surf-rock riff and rhythm.)   


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home