Friday, March 23, 2018

3 Songs: On Repeat (Extended Edition)

Jack White – “Connected By Love” (Out today on Third Man/Columbia Records is Boarding House Reach, the third solo album from Jack White.  The new album - led by the dynamic lead single, “Connected By Love” with its warped synth-driven sound and Gospel-infused organ and background vocals – is his most experimental to date.  On top of the synths, White has added elements of hip-hop, electro-rock and funk to his trademark country, blues and rock sound to great effect.  Better yet, he will be touring again, all Spring and Summer long!)      

Courtney Marie Andrews – “Kindness Of Strangers” (Phoenix-based singer-songwriter Courtney Marie Andrews is set to release her fourth album May Your Kindness Remains today on Fat Possum/Mama Bird Recording Co.  Alongside a personal yet positive lyrical outlook, Andrews creates a beautiful blend of easy-going country and Californian folk-rock that is highlighted by her stunning soulful voice.)

Preoccupations – “Espionage” (The Canadian post-punk band’s third album, aptly-titled, New Material is out today on Jagjaguwar.  The album opens with “Espionage” and its clattering Krautrock-like groove, swirling synths and catchy call and response chorus. The standout single sets the tone for the rest of the album which displays a knack for melody that was not as pronounced previously, though just as dark and moody as ever.)          

Lucy Dacus – “Addictions” (The Richmond, VA-based indie-rock singer-songwriter recently released her highly-anticipated sophomore album, Historian, via Matador Records.  Led by her smooth yet dusky vocals and emotionally-charged lyrics that sway both personal and political; the new album is markedly more mature and improves upon her breakout 2016 debut album, avoiding the so-called “sophomore slump” entirely.)     

Rivers Of Nihil – “The Silent Life” (The experimental Pennsylvania-based metal quintet recently released their third album, Where Owls Know My Name, on Metal Blade Records. The new album continues the concepts brought forth on their previous two albums that were inspired by Spring and Summer with this album representing the season of Fall.  The band combines prog-metal technicality with dense death metal riffs and elements of folk and electronica along with bursts of jazz-inflected inspiration with skronking saxophone solos and disorientating time changes for their most ambitious and dynamic album yet.)          

Stone Temple Pilots – “Roll Me Under” (After suffering the death of two vocalists – the charismatic yet troubled original vocalist Scott Weiland and Chester Bennington of Linkin Park - in the last three years; brothers Robert and Dean DeLeo and drummer Eric Kretz continue on with a new vocalist and a new self-titled album out now on Rhino Records.  The recently recruited vocalist, Jeff Gutt – who first tasted fame on the TV singing competition X-Factor - adopts Weiland’s distinct wail almost too-perfectly but as always, the brothers DeLeo know their way around a glam-soaked and psychedelic hard-rock riff.  So if fans will give Gutt a chance, they will surely be satisfied.)    


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home