Friday, January 12, 2018

3 Songs: On Repeat

Corrosion Of Conformity – “Wolf Named Crow” (After 12 years, vocalist/guitarist Pepper Keenan returns to the fold, joining Woody Weatherman, Mike Dean, and Reed Mullin for C.O.C.’s tenth album, No Cross No Crown, out now on Nuclear Blast.  Also returning is longtime producer John Custer who directs the band away from the hardcore punk roots of their last album and back to the groove-oriented metallic Southern rock sound of their breakout 90’s albums, Deliverance and Blind.  Catch them on tour now.)     

Black Rebel Motorcycle Club – “Little Thing Gone Wild” (After a tumultuous 5 year hiatus that included a member of the band suffering and recovering from a brain surgery, the veteran California rock trio - consisting of Peter Hayes, Robert Levon Been and Leah Shapiro – return triumphantly with their seventh album, Wrong Creatures, out today via Vagrant.  The band continues to perfect their bluesy brand of psychedelic garage-rock with rumbling riffs, sharp hooks and thick atmosphere.  Also, be sure to catch them on tour this winter.)

shame – “Concrete” (The London quintet are set to release their highly-anticipated debut album, Songs of Praise, out today on Dead Oceans.  Full of grit and gloom, driving post-punk rhythms and catchy, call and response hooks; the young band creates a wizened sound worthy of praise that recalls The Fall with a modern edge and energy for a very promising debut.)  


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home