Friday, November 17, 2017

3 Songs: On Repeat

Plates Of Cake – “No Use For The Sun” (The Brooklyn-based garage-rock trio led by Jonathan Byerley along with Joshua Carrafa and Ian Burns of Old Monk recently released Let’s Not Deprive Each Other, their fourth album.  Released digitally and as a limited edition cassette by Unblinking Ear Records, the new album deftly blends 80’s college rock with 60’s pop while softening the edges of their rock sound by leaning into acoustic instrumentation, psychedelic melodies and fuller, chamber pop-like arrangements for their best and most accomplished effort yet.)

Greta Van Fleet – “Edge Of Darkness” (The emergent young Michigan-based retro-rockers - consisting of brothers Josh, Jake and Sam Kiszka along with Danny Wagner look to broaden the scope of their powerful, Led Zeppelin-esque sound with their recently released double EP titled, From The Fires. Out now on Lava/Republic Records, it combines two new original tracks as well as two covers of originals from Sam Cooke and Fairport Convention alongside the four songs from the band's debut EP, Black Smoke Rising, released earlier this year.  Check out the soulful howl of the bluesy new original, “Edge Of Darkness” here for the perfect introduction to the band.)

HAEMORRHAGE – “Gore Gourmet” (The veteran Spanish grind-gore enthusiasts recently released their seventh album, We Are The Gore, via Relapse Records. Alongside the intentially gross lyrics; death metal riffs collide with punishing grindcore rhythms and a punk rock spirit especially on standout track and mission statement, “Gore Gourmet” heard here with its shout-along chorus and dive-bombing guitar solos.  Current and former members of Carcass, Impaled, Dead Infection and Ghoul make appearances as well.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home