Friday, November 10, 2017

3 Songs: On Repeat

Angel Olsen – “Sans” (Out today on Jagjaguwar, is Phases, a new rarities and b-sides compilation from the acclaimed folk-rock singer-songwriter, Angel Olsen.  The album pulls from never-heard home demo recordings and tracks recorded during the recent MY WOMAN sessions, features a Springsteen cover and opens with “Fly On Your Wall,” the stunning song previously contributed to the Bandcamp-only, anti-Trump fundraiser Our First 100 Days.  Check out the stripped-down and stirring demo, “Sans” here.)  

Margo Price – “A Little Pain” (After breaking big last year with her critically-adored crossover smash of a debut album, the Nashville native singer-songwriter recently released All American Made, her stunning sophomore album, via Third Man Records.  The new album features a duet with Willie Nelson, and somehow improves upon the old school country & western instrumentation and biting narratives that made her debut so spectacular.  Check out the bittersweet single here.)   

Jim Button & The Beholders – “Time Never Lies” (Led by vocalist/guitarist Jim Button and guitarist Vincent Lawhon, also of K.C. psych-pop band The Conquerors along with bassist Bryan Koehler from El Rey-Tones, drummer Jerad Meadows from Bleachbloodz and keyboardist Ehren Starks; the quartet creates an exciting and catchy blend of gentle psych, surf, 60’s pop and heartland folk rock on their digital-only debut 3-song EP titled, Time Never Lies, out now on High Dive Records.  Stream the jangly, vintage organ drenched title track below.)     


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home