Friday, September 29, 2017

3 Songs: On Repeat (Extended Edition)

Primus – “The Scheme” (The excellent new Primus album, The Desaturating Seven is a concept album inspired by the 1978 children’s book The Rainbow Goblins by Italian author and artist Ui de Rico.  Out today on ATO Records, the highly-anticipated ninth album is also the first album of new music since 1995 featuring the definitive lineup of Les, Ler and Herb.  The imaginative Claypool creates a lyrical fantasyland that allows for their inventive prog-rock and heavier, thrash metal sides to shine for yet another great album to add to their impressive canon.)    

Lecrae – “Come And Get Me” (Grammy-Award winning rapper Lecrae recently released All Things Work Together, his eighth album and debut for Columbia Records.  Balancing a radical Gospel-centered message with personal introspection and social and political issues, Lecrae delivers an uplifting and positive message alongside incredible production and his versatile flow.  Guests on the album include Tori Kelly, Ty Dolla $ign and emerging New Orleans artist Aha Gazelle among others.)

Son Little – “Blue Magic (Waikiki)” (The Grammy winning producer and singer-songwriter continues to perfect his deft blend of soul, hip-hop, gospel, rock and blues on his recently released sophomore album, New Magic, out now on Anti Records.  Standouts like the shuffling Sam Cooke-esque “O Me O My” and the single heard here with its stuttering rhythm and absolutely infectious sing-along chorus showcase his unbelievable talent.)          

Moses Sumney – “Don’t Bother Calling” (Out now on Jagjaguwar is Aromanticism, the long-awaited and highly-anticipated debut album from the experimental singer-songwriter Moses Sumney.  Led by his stunningly dynamic voice, the album follows a concept concerning love and loneliness that transcends genre, blending jazz, R&B, folk and soul into something indescribably beautiful and timeless; an undeniable modern day classic upon release.)       

Billy Strings – “Living Like An Animal” (The emerging contemporary bluegrass virtuoso Billy Strings recently released his debut album, Turmoil & Tinfoil.  The Nashville-by-way-of Michigan based multi-instrumentalist’s flickering fretwork and psyche-tinged punk-inspired sound conjures up images of Bill Monroe with a jam-band mentality for an impressive debut.  Stream the howling, propulsive standout track, “Live Like An Animal” here.)   

Sons Of Texas – “Down In The Trenches” (The Texas based hard rock quintet recently released their sophomore album, Fortitude, via Razor & Tie.  The new album improves upon their signature sound which effortlessly fuses groove-leaden Pantera-like southern metal with anthemic and melodic hard rock that incorporates elements of bluesy classic rock and country.)  


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home