Friday, July 28, 2017

3 Songs: On Repeat

Arcade Fire – “Electric Blue” (Arcade Fire return today with Everything Now, their highly-anticipated fifth album and label debut for Columbia Records.  The new album- with production assistance from Daft Punk’s Thomas Bangalter - continues on the path set by 2013’s excellent Reflector with their synth-driven, disco-inspired and euphorically infectious dance-pop enhanced with added touches of New Wave, dub/reggae and timely social commentary for yet another sparkling addition to their oeuvre.  Check out the Blondie-esque single here.)  

Expulsion – “Total Human Genocide” (Expulsion is the new old school death metal/grindcore hybrid project from Matt Olivo of Repulsion, Matt Harvey of Exhumed and Gruesome, Danny Walker of Intronaut, Exhumed, and Phobia, and Menno Verbaten from Lightning Swords of Death.  The supergroup’s impressive debut release, Nightmare Future is out now via Relapse Records and it is packed with vile lyrics and short bursts of punishingly propulsive rhythms and raw, raging riffs that are both modern and retro-minded.)

Armstrongs – “If There Was Ever A Time” (Armstrongs is the aptly-titled supergroup of punk rock royalty made up of Green Day’s Billie Joe Armstrong and Rancid’s Tim Armstrong along with Billie Joe’s son Joey and Tim’s nephew Rey.  Their debut track – out now on Hellcat/Epitaph Records - is an anthemic rally-cry with proceeds from the inspiring single going to assist 924 Gilman, the Bay Area punk rock venue where both Green Day and Rancid got their start.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home