Friday, June 23, 2017

3 Songs: On Repeat

Algiers – “The Underside Of Power” (Out today via Matador Records is The Underside Of Power, the sophomore album from Algiers.  The trio recently added Bloc Party drummer Matt Tong and the album was produced by Portishead’s Adrian Utley, and it expands on their highly-experimental Gospel-infused brand of politically-charged art-punk by adding in hip-hop inspired beats and elements of British grime, buzzing early industrial, 60’s soul and horror film soundtracks.  The resulting music and lyrical themes are stark, revelatory and riotous; providing the perfect soundtrack for a call to arms against this dark political climate.)         

Hundredth – “Neurotic” (It is rare for an established band to change their sound as drastically as the melodic metalcore band Hundreth has on their new album, Rare. Out now on Hopeless Records, the South Carolina band – which reunited with original guitar player Alex Blackwell prior to recording - has shifted their sound to a still heavy, roaring shoegaze-influenced sound on their fourth album.  The music hits with as much visceral velocity as ever but the hardcore screams are replaced with moodier melodies and hints of hazy, dream-pop for a fresh take on the genre that suits them well.)     

Broadside – “Disconnect” (Just in time for summer, the L.A.-by-way-of Richmond, VA pop-punk purveyors have recently released Paradise, their aptly-titled sophomore album via Victory Records.  The new album showcases the band’s growth as it leans more towards the pop side of pop-punk with bright, infectiously catchy melodies and positive, inspiring lyrical vibes that reflect their recent move to L.A. and constant touring over the last two years.  In a few years, Paradise will no doubt be heralded as a gold standard in the genre.)         


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home