Friday, March 31, 2017

3 Songs: On Repeat (March Metal Edition)

Gruesome – “Fragments Of Psyche” (The Florida old school death metal revivalists return with a new 2-song 7” single today via Relapse Records.  The new track heard here, was inspired by Human-era Death and even features Death and Cynic drummer-extraordinaire Sean Reinert.  Additionally, the blistering B-side is a Human-style reimagining of Death’s classic “Choke On It” and the CD version also includes 5 raw demo versions of previously released Gruesome tracks.  Here’s hoping for more Human-inspired tracks from the band!)      

Power Trip - “Executioner’s Tax (Swing Of The Axe)” (On their recently released sophomore album, Nightmare Logic – out now on Southern Lord – the Dallas metal band has created a modern metal masterpiece.  Their nostalgia-inducing sound brilliantly blends 80’s crossover thrash metal riffs and dive-bombing guitar solos with hardcore-inspired gang vocals, aggression and energy that matches the intensity of lyricist/vocalist Riley Gale’s empowering lyrical themes of human suffering.)      

Mastodon – “Show Yourself” (The Atlanta metal masters return today with their highly-anticipated new album, Emperor Of Sand via Reprise Records.  Produced again by Brendan O’Brien, the album deals with the passage of time and mortality with its personal lyrics and musically, it crushes with their heavy, arena-worthy blend of proggy hard rock and sludge-metal that once again sets them at the top of the metal music scene and beyond with their most accessible album yet.)   


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home