Friday, November 18, 2016

3 Songs: On Repeat

The Gentle Hits – “Walk Out” (The Phoenix folk-rock trio features former members of Dear And The Headlights and their self-titled debut album is out today via Porch Party Records.  Their rustic brand of folk-leaning indie rock is led by vocalist/guitarist Ian Metzger’s distinctly aching vocal style that is matched by the emotionally-charged ruminations on life, love and loss.  Basically, fans of DATH will not be disappointed!)

Wolf People – “Night Witch” (The British band recently released their third album, Ruins via Jagjaguwar.  The excellent new album shows the band branching out with hints of hip-hop inspiration in their thunderous beats and elements of shoegaze blended into their fuzzed-out guitar freakouts; added to their already heavy, blues and folk-soaked brand of psych-rock.)    

Mike Watt – “Against The ‘70s (Live)” (In 1995, the punk rock pioneer and former bassist of The Minutemen and fIREHOSE released his first solo album, Ball-hog or Tugboat? via Columbia Records.  For each eclectic track, he assembled a different lineup culled from an all-star cast of 90’s alt-rock stars and 80’s punk friends – including members of Pearl Jam, Nirvana, Beastie Boys, Sonic Youth, that dog. and Dinosaur Jr. among others - to bring his vision to life yet it was his warped sense of humor and stunning bass playing that held the spotlight.  Out now on Columbia Records/Legacy Recordings, is the ring speil tour ’95 live album that was recorded during his legendary tour stop at the Metro in Chicago in May of 1995 along with a backing band that featured Eddie Vedder, Dave Grohl, Pat Smear, and William Goldsmith.)  

Thursday, November 17, 2016

Temple Of The Dog – 25th Anniversary Reissue

Temple Of The Dog, the Seattle supergroup consisting of Soundgarden's Chris Cornell, Pearl Jam's Jeff Ament, Stone Gossard, and Mike McCready, and drummer for both bands, Matt Cameron; released their one and only eponymous album – led by the standout single, “Hunger Strike” - back in April of 1991, a whole six months before Pearl Jam’s Ten and Soundgarden’s Badmotorfinger were unleashed upon the world and the “grunge” movement took over the airwaves. 
In celebration of the album’s 25th anniversary, the band recently reunited and is currently on a sold out tour – after previously only playing a handful of shows in Seattle in 1990.  Additionally, they have reissued their debut album - via UMe - which has been updated with a new mix from longtime collaborator Brendan O'Brien and is packaged in a couple of configurations including a deluxe two-CD set, a single CD and a double-LP. 
For the die-hard collectors there is a four-disc Super Deluxe edition which includes: 7 demos - 5 unreleased including 2 songs that didn't make final album sessions: "Angel of Fire" and "Black Cat" as well as 5 studio outtakes newly mixed from multi-tracks by Adam Kasper – "Say Hello 2 Heaven", "Reach Down", "Pushin Forward Back", "Wooden Jesus" and "All Night Thing".  Also included are a Blu-ray audio disc with a studio-worthy 5.1 sound mix and a DVD with rare, previously unseen and unreleased live performances including, their surprise Lollapalooza performance.  Everything is beautifully packaged in a magnetic flip top box that includes a booklet with lyrics as well as new liner notes by Rolling Stone’s David Fricke and a lenticular sticker and poster.  A true “must have” for fans of the band!

Watch “Hunger Strike” here:

Friday, November 11, 2016

3 Songs: On Repeat

Nada Surf – “Inside Of Love” (Earlier this spring, the veteran indie-pop band released their eighth album, You Know Who You Are, and now they return with their new live album,  Peaceful Ghosts (Live with the Babelsberg Film Orchestra), out now on Barsuk Records.  The album features fan favorites that span their 20 year career including “Inside Of Love”, as its already heartstring-pulling melodies are bolstered by dramatic swells of strings that exemplifies the project.  As a Noisetrade exclusive, you can download 4 of the tracks for free here:   

Terry Malts – “Seen Everything” (For their highly-anticipated third album, Lost At The Party, out now via Slumberland Records, the San Fran. trio – featuring former members of Magic Bullets – recorded in a studio for the first time, shaking the lo-fi tag and returning to their recent roots as they subtract some of the retro-punk grime and add in more of their former project’s style of melancholic power-pop for their best and most immediate album yet.)  

Courtney Marie Andrews – “Irene” (After recently touring in Damien Jurado’s band and contributing vocals to Jimmy Eat World albums, the Washington-based singer-songwriter is ready once again for the spotlight with her sixth solo album, Honest Life, out now via Mama Bird Recording Co.  Andrews creates an easy-going country and folk-leaning brand of Americana with her stunning voice that recalls both Linda Ronstadt and Linda Thompson.)     

Thursday, November 10, 2016

20 Years on the Street: Vinyl Reissues from Vagrant Records including, The Anniversary

In celebration of their 20th anniversary, Vagrant Records is reissuing some of their classic albums on vinyl.  Released in phases, phase one includes limited edition colored vinyl from Senses Fail and Rocket From The Crypt. 
The second phase spotlights late 90’s/early 2000’s indie rock favorites The Anniversary and the one-two punch of  their synth-heavy and emotionally-charged debut, Designing A Nervous Breakdown  and their 60’s and 70’s rock-indebted sophomore swan song, Your Majesty. 
DANB was available in a primary colors tri-color version that quickly sold out and is still available in lime, light blue and red versions each limited to 300.  YM was reissued on limited orange swirl (400) and classic black.          
There are more great reissues to come from Vagrant such as classics from Saves The Day, Alkaline Trio, Hot Rod Circuit and the Get Up Kids so stay tuned...      

Additionally, The Anniversary is making another round of their reunion tour this weekend with the following tour dates:
11/10 – Norman, OK @ Opolis (w/ Carly Gwin and the Sin)
11/11 – Austin, TX @ Sidewinder (w/ The Single Issues and Grand Champeen)
11/12 – Dallas, TX @ Gas Monkey (w/ The Single Issues and Grand Champeen)

Watch The Anniversary – “All Things Ordinary”:

Monday, November 07, 2016

No Direction Home: Bob Dylan; A Martin Scorsese Picture – 10th Anniversary Edition

Originally released to great praise from critics and fans alike in 2005, the Martin Scorsese-produced Bob Dylan documentary, No Direction Home is now made available on Blu-ray for the first time with upgraded sound and picture. 
Additionally, 2 1/2 hours of bonus content – featuring interviews with Scorsese, Dave van Ronk and Liam Clancy - is included in the 10th anniversary edition of the film and a deluxe collector’s edition includes both Blu-ray and DVD versions of the film, bonus content and an exclusively produced Bob Dylan magazine that features reproductions of historical articles about the Dylan, plus three high-quality lithographic photo prints of Dylan, packaged together in a deluxe portfolio box set.
For more info: and
Watch the trailer here: