Friday, July 01, 2016

3 Songs: On Repeat

Sara Watkins – “Young In All The Wrong Ways” (After ending a lengthy hiatus and recently reuniting with Nickel Creek, singer and multi-instrumentalist Sara Watkins returns with her new solo album, Young In All The Wrong Ways, out today via New West Records.  The new album is the first that she has written on her own and naturally, the songs lean more toward personal themes.  Musically, Watkins’ virtuoso fiddle skills and bluegrass and country-leaning folk-rock sound are matched with layers of vintage organ and electric guitars like on the statement-making title track heard here.  Guests such as Jon Brion, Benmont Tench and Jim James of My Morning Jackets lend their talents as well.)

Saosin – Racing Toward A Red Light” (The last few years have given us many great reunions and you can add one more to the growing list.  The post-hardcore band, Saosin, recently reformed with original singer Anthony Green of Circa Survive and released their first full-length album together, Along The Shadow, via Epitaph Records.  They triumphantly deliver on the promise of their 2003 debut EP with the perfect blend of searing melodies and heavy, metallic riffs.  And it just sounds great to hear Green scream again.)

Kalispell – “Windfall” (Kalispell is the moniker for sought after multi-instrumentalist and singer/songwriter Shane Leonard of Field Report, who has also worked with Sara Watkins and S. Carey among others.  On his own, Leonard crafts a beautiful brand of art-folk with clever percussion, poetic lyrics and lushly-layered arrangements on his new album, Printer’s Son, out now on Cartouche Records.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home