Friday, April 08, 2016

3 Songs: On Repeat

Dylan Mondegreen – “Every Little Step” (Dylan Mondegreen is the recording moniker for Norwegian indie-pop singer-songwriter Børge Sildnes, whose highly-anticipated fourth album, Every Little Step was released today on Shelflife Records.  The new album – led by the heartfelt standout title track heard here – is filled with personal, family-oriented lyrical themes and fills in the soft rock and folk-pop spaces between Jens Lekman and early Belle And Sebastian for another melancholic yet melodic masterpiece.)

Deftones – “Doomed User” (The 90’s alt. metal survivors return with Gore, their eighth album and first since 2012, out now on Warner Brothers Records. They've expanded their sound with soaring, shimmering and spacey textures that collide and contrast with dense metallic tones along with frontman Chino’s trademark passionate vocals.  The impressive results show an untouchable band at the top of their craft once again.)  

M83 – “Go” (M83, aka Anthony Gonzalez released Junk, his highly-anticipated and long-awaited new album, today via Mute.  His distinct brand of eclectic synth-led art-pop has always been informed by neon-lit 80’s vibes and he takes it even further on the new album with nods to cheesy 80’s sitcom soundtracks – complete with harmonica and saxophone solos - alongside elements of 70’s soft rock, funk and cosmic prog.  Guests include vocalists Beck, Mai Lan Chapiron and Susanne Sundfør along with guitar legend Steve Vai.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home