Friday, March 25, 2016

3 Songs: On Repeat

Through The Sparks – “The Driveway” (The long-running Birmingham-based psych-pop band led by frontman Jody Nelson recently released Transindifference, their long-awaited third album and label debut for Communicating Vessels.  The new album proves to be worth the wait and sees them upping the ante on the catchy pop melodies and lyrical positivity to go along with their eclectic prog-leaning brand of psych-drenched folk-rock that incorporates krautrock rhythms and elements of glam and country.)     

Eureka California – “Cobwebs On The Wind” (Today via Happy Happy Birthday To Me Records, the Athens, Ga based garage-punk duo consisting of Jake Ward and Marie A. Uhler have released Versus, their third album in as many years and first recorded in a studio where raging, energetic rhythms, 90’s-inspired fuzzed-out guitar crunch and power-punk melodies collide.) 

Sean Watkins – “What To Fear” (Hot on the heels of last year’s solo effort, All I Do Is Lie - his first in over a decade - the singer-songwriter, virtuoso guitarist and founding member of the influential Americana trio Nickel Creek recently released his new solo album, What To Fear.  Out now via Thirty Tigers, the album is highlighted by his warm, organic folk-pop that sets the scene with touches of country and lively bluegrass and allows for Watkins to weave in his emotionally-charged political and religious themed narratives.  His sister Sara guests along with keyboardist Benmont Tench.)    


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home