Friday, March 18, 2016

3 Songs: On Repeat

Damien Jurado – “Exit 353” (Today via Secretly Canadian Records, the ever-prolific folk-rock troubadour Damien Jurado has released Visions of Us on the Land, his twelfth album and third and final in a trilogy that started in 2012 with Maraqopa.  The epic 17-track album was produced again by Richard Swift and builds upon Jurado’s unique folk-driven indie rock sound with surreal lyrical imagery and dreamy pop-laced psych-rock ornamentation to match.)     

Nada Surf – “Believe You’re Mine” (The veteran band led by singer-songwriter and guitarist Matthew Caws recently released their long-awaited eighth album, You Know Who You Are, via Barsuk Records.  Now a quartet with the addition of guitarist Doug Gillard (Guided By Voices), they continue to make shimmering, emotionally-charged and super-catchy indie-pop over two decades into their brilliant career.)  

Entombed A.D.  – “Midas In Reverse” (Vocalist LG Petrov, an original member of the Swedish death metal legends, Entombed, put together a new version of the band under the moniker, Entombed A.D.  Their sick second album, Dead Dawn is out now on Century Media and continues the onslaught with their signature hybridization of sludge-thick “buzzsaw” guitar riffs and death-and-roll grooves.  Look for the band on tour throughout the spring.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home