Wednesday, May 13, 2015

3 Songs: On Repeat

Surfer Blood – “Island” (For their recently released third album, 1000 Palms, the Florida-based indie-rock band found a new label home with Joyful Noise that allowed them the creative control to create their rawest yet most poppy and polished album to date.  The standout single heard here, is filled with surf-y guitar melodies that alternate between clean and crunchy alongside a catchy, super-charged chorus.)


Gruesome – “Closed Casket” (Led by vocalist/guitarist Matt Harvey of Exhumed along with members of Possessed, Malevolent Creation and Derketa, Gruesome pays heavy homage to the Florida death metal scene of the early 90’s with their nostalgia-inducing debut album, Savage Land, out now via Relapse Records.  Every gory detail - down to the artwork from the legendary Ed Repka (Death, Massacre, Megadeth), to the old school death metal riffs and Chuck Schuldiner-sounding vocals - is in tribute to the influential band Death.  The standout track here features a gnarly guest guitar solo from former Death, Obituary and Testament guitarist James Murphy.)  

My Morning Jacket – “Spring (Among The Living)” (Last week, after a four-year wait, My Morning Jacket released their highly-anticipated seventh album, The Waterfall via ATO/Capitol Records.  Gone is the Prince-like funk of their last album, Circuital, but always adventurous; Jim James and crew have blended ethereal electronics, Middle Eastern themes and some of James’ most personal lyrics into their already eclectic Americana and classic rock-leaning sound for one their most soulful and cohesive albums yet.)

Stream the haunting, bluesy force of nature “Spring (Among The Living)” here: 


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home