Wednesday, November 05, 2014

3 Songs: On Repeat

Liars – “Poison Bender” (Art-punk trio Liars released their new I’m No Gold EP this week via Mute.  The EP leans heavily towards remixes of the jumpy, exuberant title track – taken from their excellent most recent album, Mess -  by the Liars themselves and a pumped up mix from Mute founder Daniel Miller.  Also included are two new tracks including the droning and propulsive yet feather-light standout track heard here.)

Modest Mouse – “White Lies, Yellow Teeth” (Isaac Brock’s label, Glacial Pace has just reissued Modest Mouse’s first two full-lengths on vinyl.  Additionally, a 7” with two previously unreleased tracks from those sessions were released alongside each respective album.  The song heard here – with its signature scratchy guitars and ramshackle rhythm - was taken from the same sessions that birthed their seminal 1996 album, This Is a Long Drive for Someone With Nothing to Think About.)

Deerhoof – “Exit Only” (For La Isla Bonita, their thirteenth (!) studio album - out now via Polyvinyl Records - the band added fresh touches of “riot grrl” and Ramones-inspired punk and more direct pop-leaning melodies to their already off-kilter art-rock sound.  The lead single here, mixes Spanish lyrics, thick, fuzzed-out guitars and a driving yet stuttering drum beat as a punk-fuelled shot in the arm for the indie rock vets.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home