Wednesday, January 30, 2013

3 Songs: On Repeat

Wake Owl – “Wild Country” (Catchy new single and title track taken from the debut EP from folk-pop singer-songwriter Colyn Cameron, released this week on Vagrant.  His smooth and spacious ballads have a graceful touch of sun-streaked beauty that stands out from the rest of his current indie folk brethren for a promising debut.)

The Ruby Suns – “Kingfisher Call Me” (Sub Pop Records is putting the “pop” back into their name with the release of Christopher, the time-warping new album by The Ruby Suns, out this week.  Driven by radiant and glimmering 80’s-loving synths and futuristic dance beats, Ryan McPhun has taken his project in a new and exciting direction.) 

Lost Animal – “Lose The Baby” (Melbourne-based duo of Jarrod Quarrell formerly of St. Helens and Shags Chamberlain formerly a touring member of Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti released their debut album, Ex Tropical this week on Hardly Art.  They create an eclectic blend of sounds on the album’s 10 tracks with psychedelic synths, marimba, steel drums, hip hop inspired beats, and some off-kilter pop-skewing melodies and lyrics for a promising debut.)   

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

3 Songs: On Repeat

Shugo Tokumaru – “Decorate” (Kaleidoscopic first single taken from the Japanese multi-instrumentalist’s new album, In Focus? Out now on Polyvinyl.  Ridiculously meticulous - he incorporates over 20 instruments on each track to shape his energetic Beatles-esque sound and although sung mostly in Japanese, the infectious melodies are universal.  Besides, half the fun is wondering “what instrument just made that sound and what will I hear next?”.)   

Daniel Romano – “Middle Child” (The aching and pleading opening track to the Ontario-based classic Country & Western singer’s lonesome new album, Come Cry With Me, released this week via Normaltown Records.  Daniel’s stylish sound is a pastiche-less throwback to the old Country crooners Hank Williams and fellow Canadian, Hank Snow, as Romano showcases his storytelling gift on his excellent third album.)   

Mystical Weapons – “Mechanical Mammoth” (New improvisational instrumental project from multi-instrumentalists Greg Saunier of Deerhoof and Sean Lennon.  Their genre-defiant art-damaged sound incorporates inventive yet fractured rhythms and creatively off-kilter arrangements on their headphones-worthy self-titled debut, out now on Chimera Music.)

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Petra Haden - "Petra Goes To The Movies"

Petra Haden, the highly-demanded studio musician and former member of 90’s punk-pop band That Dog is set to release her new album, Petra Goes To The Movies on Anti- Records today.  The highly inventive and captivating album is the follow up to her critically acclaimed album, Petra Sings The Who Sells Out, where she covered The Who’s classic album with only her voice.  Now, in the same fashion, she is using only her voice to cover and convey the cinematic scores to some of her favorite movies such as Psycho, Cool Hand Luke, Goldfinger and The Social Network. 
Although Petra makes every striking violin melody and every trumpet call on the album with only her mouth, she is also assisted by legendary guitarist Bill Frisell on “This Is Not America” from the film, The Falcon And The Snowman as well as on Tootsie’s “It Might Be You”, where her father, jazz great Charlie Haden plays bass and where she lends her beautiful singing voice to the film’s most climatic moment.  And jazz pianist Brad Melhdau also lends his talents to the gorgeous and moving, “Calling You” from Baghdad Café. 
One of the standout tracks include the instantly memorable and haunting main title to Psycho, which lends itself to a new brand of insanity with Petra’s wild voice swirling and pinging around your headphones.  Another standout is the frenetic and bouncy “Carlotta’s Galop” taken from the movie, 8 ½.    
Petra Goes To The Movies is meant to be fully absorbed with a great pair of headphones, so to be able to hear each and every wondrous part of the songs. 
Check out the video for “Psycho Main Title” here:

For more info: and

Monday, January 21, 2013

Stream It From The Mountain: Ra Ra Riot - "Beta Love"

Tomorrow, the sophisticated indie-pop band Ra Ra Riot are set to release their third album, Beta Love, on Barsuk Records.  After some lineup reshuffling, the band is now down to a four-piece and the Dennis Herring (Modest Mouse, Wavves)-produced album shows a more focused yet more experimental and synth-driven sound that was lyrically and conceptually inspired by noted cyberpunk author, William Gibson.    
The band is streaming the entire album on their YouTube channel prior to its release on Jan. 22nd. 

Check it out, starting with the super-infectious and appropriately danceable first single, “Dance With Me” here:

Pre-order the new album here:  
For more info:

Friday, January 18, 2013

Free Friday: Huntronik - "Huntronik"

Brooklyn electro-rock trio Huntronik just released their self-titled debut album as a free download on their Bandcamp page.  The promising 9-track affair is filled with plenty of surprises such as taut and hypnotic Krautrock rhythms, swirls of psychedelic synths and an off-kilter pop sense that sounds like Animal Collective in a night club.    
The EP opens with the thick rumbling bass and spacey synths of “Rabies” and is followed by the energetic standout track, “Everyone Is A Website” and its bouncy and propulsive beat, distorted fuzzed-out guitars and catchy pitch-shifted vocals.   “Delivery Man” delivers another standout moment, opening with a crazed rhythm and stuttering guitar riff before launching into a more straightforward rock tune with a honky-tonk piano line.     

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

3 Songs: On Repeat

Free Energy – “Electric Fever” (The Philly-based power-pop revivalists return with their excellent and highly-anticipated sophomore album, Love Sign this week on their own Free People label.  This danceable cowbell-infused 70’s rock anthem of a first single is only a taste of the pure classic rock and power-pop perfection that the album holds.)

Parquet Courts – “Borrowed Time” (The exciting new project from Andrew Savage of Fergus & Geronimo and Austin Brown of The Keepsies incorporates noisy post-punk outbursts and Krautrock rhythms with memorable melodies and the witty and poetic lyrics you would expect from Savage on their debut album, Light Up Gold out now on What’s Your Rupture?.)

The Capsules – “Across The Sky” (The former members of under-rated 90’s shoegaze band Shallow - married duo Julie and Jason Shields - trade in their swirling wall of guitars for spacy layers of ethereal synths and throbbing beats; sounding like a melancholic Blondie on their new album, Northern Lights & Southern Skies, out now on Vespera Records.)