Wednesday, December 05, 2012

3 Songs: On Repeat

Joan Of Arc – “King Song” (The Chicago art-rock mainstays have released a new self-titled album that consists of seven stripped-down acoustic folk songs.  It is out now on Joyful Noise Recordings and limited to only 190 hand-numbered copies on white vinyl with six short but elegant, minimalist folk songs on side one and just a single, fifteen-and-a-half long track on side two.  Get one now while they last!)     

The Wonder Revolution – “Firefly” (Featuring members of The Appleseed Cast and Paper Airplanes, this prolific Kansas-based collective led by guitarist David Lord are set to release Firefly, their third album of 2012, next week on Air House Records.  Their unique sound blends layers of jazz-indebted post-rock with prog-rock tendencies and wide-eyed vocal melodies and with the visual artists in the band, their live show is a one of a kind experience as well.)

Jacob Morris – “Wet Cigarette” (The Athens, GA based singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist, who has played cello for Patterson Hood and has ties to the Elephant 6 collective, released Moths his debut solo album this week on Cloud Recordings.  Jacob’s brand of quirky folk-pop also touches on 60’s psych-pop and singer-songwriter fare along with some super-catchy melodies and inventive arrangements that keeps pace with all of the great music that has come from the Athens scene.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home