Friday, June 22, 2012

Free Friday: Various Artists - "Dayton City Paper Summer Series Vol. 2"

The Dayton City Paper has just released its second installment of the Summer Sampler with a "who's who" in the always great, ever-prolific Dayton music scene. 

The 12-track sampler opens with the exciting new band Duke Of Owls and their throwback guitar-led rock sound.  Feathered Serpent follows with a thick, sludgy grunge anthem.  Local vets, Smug Brothers include a bouncy new track from their upcoming album On the Way to the Punchline.  Being brings their jarring extreme noise with an 8-and-a-half minute assault from their album PlumpKing Elk, the new project from Andy Smith of Andrew & The Pretty Punchers and Kyle Melton of Smug Brothers provides a stunning, standout psych-pop track from their upcoming album  Making Buildings Out of Everything.  Astro Fang makes their presence known with a jittery slice of angular noise-rock.  The trio Dirty Socialites distill everything great about the guitar-centric 90's indie rock into one pretty and haunting ballad.  Led by Brandon Hawk, By Way Of Sunstorm tear into an epic, Isis-like post-metal churner like there is no tomorrow.  The Trash offer up a straight-forward rock number with swagger to spare.  Also leading the charge in the metal underground is Bastet Illuminara with their throat and guitar shredding black metal style.  Scene vets The Story Changes lend their experience to the sampler with a super-catchy pop-punk sing-along.  And closing out the sampler is a new Southeast Engine track from their upcoming Canaanville EP due July 31st from the Dayton-based label Misra Records.

The Dayton music scene is alive and well and the Dayton City Paper has provided the perfect document!


For more info: and


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home