Friday, December 30, 2011

Top 10 Albums of 2011

There were a ton of great releases this year but these are the albums I listened to the most.

1.  The Head and the Heart - The Head And The Heart

2.  Marcellus Hall - The First Line

3.  Death Cab For Cutie - Codes And Keys

4.  Primus - Green Naugahyde

5.  Wilco - The Whole Love

6.  A Lull - Confetti

7.  Iron & Wine - Kiss Each Other Clean 

8.  Ball Of Flame Shoot Fire - Pots And Knives


9.  Okkervil River - I Am Very Far

10.  Foo Fighters - Wasting Light

Thanks for another great year!

Happy New Year!


Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Top 10 Songs of 2011

1.  A Lull - "Weapons For War" (taken from Confetti)


2. Niki & the Dove - "The Fox" (taken from The Fox 10" Single)


3. The Head and the Heart - "Lost In My Mind" (taken from The Head And The Heart)


4.  Alert - "All I See Is Red" (taken from Red Opus .45)


5.  Marcellus Hall - "It's My Life" (taken from The First Line)

6.  Ball Of Flame Shoot Fire - "Keep House" (taken from Pots And Knives)

7.  Jay-Z & Kanye West - "Otis" (taken from Watch The Throne)

8.  Primus - "Tragedy's A-Comin'" (taken from Green Naugahyde)

9. Beans - "Glass Coffins" (taken from End It All)

10.  Yourself And The Air - "Bicycles Plus" (taken from Who's Who In The Zoo EP)

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

Top 5 EPs of 2011

1.  Yourself And The Air - Who's Who In The Zoo

2.  Canon Logic - Rapid Empire

3.  Belle Adair - Belle Adair

4.  Surfer Blood - Tarot Classics

5.  TV Girl - Benny And The Jetts

Friday, December 23, 2011

Free Friday: "A Familyre Christmas Volume 4"

The fourth volume of quirky folk-pop of the Christmas variety from Sounds Familyre Records, the label run by Danielson is being offered as a free download on the label's Bandcamp page.  Most of the 18 track album consists of originals but also included are some very unique takes on some of the more traditional classics.  Danielson contributes as does DM Stith, Vesper of Ben + Vesper, as well as many of Danielson's friends and family.

Be sure to check out the other 3 volumes also on the Bandcamp page!  Merry Christmas!

Download A Familyre Christmas Volume 4 here:

Friday, December 16, 2011

Dream Concert: The Devil Wears Prada

With the Dream Concert feature, I pick the songs I would like to hear the most and choose the venue for a hypothetical show with one of my favorite bands that I have yet to witness live. 

One of my favorite christian metal bands is The Devil Wears Prada.  Their new album, Dead Throne was released on Ferret Records back in September.  Building off of last year's Zombie EP and showcasing a new level of technical expertise and maturity the new album is their heaviest and best yet.  And I am excited to finally get to see them next week at Bogart's in Cincinnati.  Now, I guess if I had to choose a venue it would probably be the Southgate House (which as you know, is my favorite) besides, the grungy Bogart's lends itself well to the pummeling and brutal brand of metalcore TDWP will be sure to bring.   

Here is a list of songs I hope they play (Listed by Album):

Dead Throne:

Dead Throne



Born To Lose

Forever Decay


Zombie EP:
With Roots Above And Branches Below:
Assitant To The Regional Manager
Danger: Wildman
The Scorpion Deathlock
Goats On A Boat
Hey John, What's Your Name Again?
Dear Love: A Beautiful Dischord:
Gauntlet Of Solitude
And The Sentence Trails Off...
Hopefully I will get to check off quite a few of these songs off of my list...
For tour dates and more info click here: and

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

3 Songs: An Indie Christmas Volume 2

1.  She & Him - "The Christmas Waltz" (New original Christmas tune taken from A Very She & Him Christmas, out now on Merge.)


2.  Tristen - "Frosty The Snowman" (Singer-songwriter turns the old standard into a glittering, Spector-like, doo-wop rock song.)


3. Phil And The Osophers - "Brutus The Backup Reindeer" (Brooklyn-based indie-poppers tell the heart-warming and funny tale of Brutus, who fills in for the other reindeer who have fallen ill with the flu.)


Friday, December 09, 2011

Free Friday: Dear Lions - "Lying To My Lies" EP

After performing their first show at this year's SXSW and releasing their self-titled debut to high praise in the spring, NYC-based indie rock band Dear Lions have just released their second EP Lying To My Lies as a free download on their Bandcamp page. 

With swirling guitars and aching, emotional vocals, they create a dreamy Smiths-loving brand of guitar rock that will have you swooning and swaying along instantly.  For fans of The National, The Smiths and The Walkmen. 

Download the Lying To My Lies EP here:

For more info click here:

Wednesday, December 07, 2011

3 Songs: On Repeat

1.  Sad Baby Wolf - "8th Level" (New project from former Shins member Marty Crandall features his trademark keyboards and vocals and retains some his former band's quirky and gazing melodies yet feels new all the while. The Albuquerque-based five piece are working on their debut album due out next spring!)  

2. Caveman - "Old Friend" (Wide-lensed indie pop with spaced-out synths, wild percussion, walls of guitars along with sharp melodies and multipart harmonies are just some of the highlights from the band's highly praised self released debut album CoCo Beware out now on Magic Man!/ORG Records.)


3.  Mwahaha - "Deep Sleep (Odd Nosdam Remix)" (The Bay-area psychedelic electronic analog sound-sculpters self-titled debut album is out now which also features vocals by Merrill Garbus of Tune-Yards.  Here fellow East Bay resident and Anticon artist Odd Nosdam offers up his scratchy remix of album cut "Deep Sleep".)


Tuesday, December 06, 2011

Breathe Owl Breathe - "The Listeners/These Train Tracks" 7" and Children's Book

Breathe Owl Breathe are a Michigan based art-folk trio who have just released a new 7" and Children's Book called The Listeners/These Train Tracks.   Out today on the RAD label, musician and artist Micah Middaugh wrote and created each block printed page and cover of the limited-edition book consisting of two stories, one which describes a tale of an underground meeting between two outsiders, an Ostrich and a Mole. 

This beautifully hand-crafted 7" and book combo makes for the perfect holiday gift for the music-loving kid or adult on your list... 

The band is currently on tour and their live show is not to be missed.  Seriously.  They put on the best and most entertaining show I have seen in years!  Check out their live videos on Youtube.

Download "The Listeners" here: 

For more info, tour dates and to order click here: and:

Friday, December 02, 2011

Free Friday: Young Galaxy - "Versus"

The Canadian dream-pop band Young Galaxy has just released Versus, an 11-song collection of the remixes the band has recorded for other artists and they are offering it up on the Paper Bag Records site as a free download.  The artists Young Galaxy have remixed include Handsome Furs, Junior Boys, and Grimes as well as fellow label mates CFCF, Johan Agebjorn and Austra.


1. "Serve The People" (Handsome Furs)

2. "You'll Improve Me" (Junior Boys)

3. "Lose It" (Austra)

4. "Better Off Dead" (The Sounds)

5. "Crystal Ball" (Grimes)

6. "Snake Charmer" (CFCF)

7. "Call Me" (The Pipettes)

8. "Watch The World Go By" (Johan Agebjorn)

9. "Michigan Left" (The Arkells)

10. "Spellwork" (Austra)

11. "This Crowded Room" (Freedom or Death)

Download Versus in exchange for an email here:

For more info click here: and